JCT

#67 Review of the year

In review of the year on December 31, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Books I wish I’d written

Stewart Lee’s How I Escaped My Certain Fate

Niki Segnit’s The Flavour Thesaurus

Jonathan Coe’s The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim

Things that made me laugh

The Trip

Rev

Stewart Lee: his book (above) and live show Vegetable Stew (extra dates in Jan!)

Fags Mags and Bags

The Real Thing at the Old Vic

Things that made me cry

The Trip (ep 6)

Rev (ep 6)

my hard drive dying

Toy Story 3

Things that have distracted me from doing more productive things

Bill Nighy’s voice in the Charles Paris Mysteries on BBC Radio 7/4

Downton Abbey

The Archers’ SATTC build up

Armistead Maupin’s Mary Ann in Autumn

Lumosity’s Word Bubble game

Sherlock

Mad Men

Wallander

That not-very-good-but-strangely-addictive tv cop show with Toby Stephens in it that was panned by critics

Reasons I’m not a size 10

Blackbird Bakery mince pies

Indian Mystery masala dosas

Jacks’ lattes

cheese, generally

churros from Richard Lenoir/Bastille Sunday market

pints at the Herne

Japanese grape flavour chews from  Soho or the korean deli under Centre Point

Paul A Young sea salted caramels

Sally Clarke eccles cakes (from the East Dulwich Deli)

Things I bought that I probably couldn’t really afford but that have contributed to my general happiness and well being and which are cheaper than therapy

Most of the above, plus…

Jo Malone perfume (30cl bottle)

a super-soft hand-knitted snood (avail Greenwich mkt, Sundays)

Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser

French notebooks

Bodum Fyrkat charcoal bbq grill

People who have been good to me (Thank You!)

Audiogo – the BBC’s audiobook arm who send me audiobooks to review and sent shortbread at Christmas

The Apple store’s genius bar who gave me a new hard drive for free

The state education system

Tibor Jones for pep talks and confidence boosters

My husband for buying me Camper slippers – every homeworker should have some

Anyone who put work my way (kind friends and former colleagues)

Anyone who took me out to lunch or bought me a coffee

Everyone who bought The Midlife Manual

Everyone who has read, commented on and contributed to this blog

  1. What a great post! Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

